Roe Deer Buck in Ancient Woodland by Alan MacKenzie © 2015 Alan…

Roe Deer Buck in Ancient Woodland by Alan MacKenzie © 2015 Alan Mackenzie.

http://ift.tt/YLS15r

Facebook

I’ve become relatively good at spotting Roe deer out of the corner of my eye, even if the deer is hiding in thick undergrowth. When I saw this buck, I had to adjust my perspective slightly, as a fern was obscuring his face. The buck darted off shortly afterwards. I could hear his bark for several minutes.

In a remarkable coincidence, later in the evening I bumped into the parents of two pals from primary school. They have bought an estate adjacent to a forest I regularly visit. I’ve been kindly given permission to enter their estate, whenever I like. The estate includes an 80 acre bluebell woodland, several large fields and good vantage points. Three herds of Fallow deer live on their estate and they gather every evening in the open. Previously a shooting estate, such rights have been removed and I am likely to see mature bucks with large antlers in a few years time. It was so nice to be reunited (in the middle of nowhere) with such kind people. I look forward to showing you my pictures! http://flic.kr/p/w7SH7n July 24, 2015 at 05:34AM

Leave a Reply

